Skip to main content

American Academy

Summer Tutoring

Some of our American Academy teachers like to offer private tutoring sessions during the summer months. We have listed those teachers here for your convenience and to give our wonderful, hard-working teachers a helping hand.
 
However, please note that American Academy is not involved in these private tutoring arrangements in any way. To make arrangements for summer private tutoring, you will need to contact the teachers directly using the contact info they have provided here.
 
*This information could change at any time based on state, local and health mandates. On campus tutoring will not start until June 1, 2020 (we will provide updates as we get more information).
 

Summer 2020

We will add tutors as we receive their information.
 
Grade level(s): K-2
Subject(s): Literacy and Math
Instructor: Amber Marion
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: Off-campus location - Parker Library
Availability: June 2nd- July 30th
Tuesday/ Thursday
Mornings or early afternoon
Contact: amarion@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K-1
Subject(s): Literacy and Math
Instructor: Bobbi Hanshaw
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: MB - RM 157
Availability: June 1st-August 7th
Monday-Friday
Contact: bhanshaw@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K-2
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Melanie Curl
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: CP - 208
Availability: Flexible
Will set up times and dates with the families
Contact: mcurl@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K-5
Subject(s): Math & Language Arts
Instructor: Kaeli Sandhoff
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: MB - 136
Availability: Monday's and Wednesday's - flexible time
Contact: ksandhoff@aak8.org

 

Grade level(s): 2-4
Subject(s): Math, Literacy
Instructor: Cindy Newman
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: MB - 216
Availability: Flexible availability
Contact: cnewman@aak8.org


Grade level(s): K-4
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Jessica LeClair
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: MB - 321
Availability: Tuesdays & Thursdays 9:00-2:00 (1-hour sessions)
Contact: jleclair@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 6-8
Subject(s): Science
Instructor: Dipti Arora Arora
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: LM - 302
Availability: June, July
Every Monday and Wednesday
11:00 am
Days and time is flexible
Contact: darora@aak8.org

Grade level(s): K-8
Subject(s): Social and emotional skill-building: self-awareness and emotional regulation to support access to executive functions and problem solving.
Instructor: Sally Seiffer
Tutoring Options: Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: Online only
Availability: Flexible scheduling.
Contact: sseiffer@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): 2-6
Subject(s): Literacy and Math
Instructor: Debbie Martin
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: LM - Room 235
Availability: I am flexible for days and times. I will be out of town June 23 - July 4.
Contact: dmartin@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 5-8
Subject(s): Mathematics, Go Math 5, 6, 7; Pre-Algebra, Algebra 1, Geometry, Algebra 2, Pre-calculus.
Instructor: Benji Billman
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: CP - 315
Availability: Wednesdays, starting June 3 through August 5th. Days off: July 1 & 8.
Contact: bbillman@aak8.org

Grade level(s): K-2
Subject(s): Literacy/Math
Instructor: Julie True
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: LM - 203
Availability: flexible-Tuesdays and Thursdays
Contact: jtrue@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 4-8
Subject(s): Elementary Literacy/Middle School English
Instructor: Jo-Ellen Solita
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Location: CP - 221
Availability: Monday - Friday, flexible
Contact: jsolita@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 1-5
Subject(s): Math, Reading, and Writing
Instructor: Julie Gallina
Tutoring Options: Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: Online only
Availability: flexible M-F, just contact me!
Contact: jgallina@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 5-8
Subject(s): English/literacy
Instructor: Kara Allen
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: LM - 321
Availability: Very flexible for both days and times.
*I will be out-of-town from June 18-July 5 (can still complete online tutoring)
Contact: kallen@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 5-8
Subject(s): Math and History
Instructor: Mark Leadbetter
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: CP - 322
Availability: Flexible
Contact: mleadbetter@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 2-5
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Andrea Bambury
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Location: MB - 228
Availability: Will work out scheduling with each family
Contact: abambury@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 2-4
Subject(s): Math
Instructor: Jennifer Gant
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: CP - 242
Availability: Highly Flexible - I will work with your schedule to find a time and day that works best for the family!
Contact: jgant@aak8.org

Grade level(s): K-5
Subject(s): I am a Learning Specialist and Interventionist at the Castle Pines Campus. will be offering specialized tutoring for students with dyslexia or students who are demonstrating difficulty with reading. I will be using evidence-based intervention programs that are designed to help struggling readers. These programs do recommend three days a week for best results but can also be done as little as once a week if that is preferred.
Instructor: Katherine York
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: Online only -
Availability: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday 9 am- 3 pm
Contact: kyork@aak8.org

Grade level(s): K-4
Subject(s): Math, English
Instructor: Sarah Anderson
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: CP - 248
Availability: Flexible
Contact: sanderson@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K-4
Subject(s): Literacy- reading & comprehension, grammar, and spelling.
Math- New Go Math curriculum
Instructor: Laura Donovan
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: LM - 217
Availability: Flexible
Contact: ldonovan@gmail.com

Grade level(s): K-1
Subject(s): Literacy and Math
Instructor: Mallory Buresh
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
However you feel more comfortable!
Location: MB - 158
Availability: Beginning of June through July 31st. Available mornings/afternoons.
Contact: mburesh@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 1-3
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Melissa Canino
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: LM - 202
Availability: Flexible, will work with families to come up with a schedule
Contact: mcanino@aak8.org

Grade level(s): K-1
Subject(s): Math and ELA
Instructor: Haily Krien
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: LM - 135
Availability: M/T/W/Th/F
9:00-12:00
30 minute sessions and one hour sessions available
Sign-Up Genius- https://www.signupgenius.com/go/8050845ADAB29A2FD0-summer
Contact: hkrien@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): 3-5
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Tonya Tuley
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: LM - 219
Availability: Wednesdays 8-4
Contact: ttuley@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K-3
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Anna Mullen
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Small Group Tutoring Sessions either online or in person
Location: CP - 209
Availability: Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays
Contact: amullen@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K-8
Subject(s): Math
Instructor: Jennifer Badgley
Tutoring Options: Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: Online only -
Availability: Flexible
Contact: jenniferbadgley@gmail.com

Grade level(s): 6-8
Subject(s): History & Writing (focusing on essay writing & academic, analytical and evaluative writing)
Instructor: Kayla Todd
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: CP - 318
Availability: M-F between 9:00 AM-12:00 PM is my preference, but I am flexible this summer so my schedule is fairly open.
Contact: ktodd@aak8.org
Teacher comments:
If tutoring in History, I am hoping to focus on working with students on critical thinking and evaluating important historical events. I would also like to preview some of the more complex topics for the students' upcoming year. If tutoring a student in writing, I would like to focus on strengthening academic writing (essays/written responses), and analyzing/evaluating primary sources or information, and then practicing written responses. I would also focus on some of the mechanics of writing a scholarly paper.

Grade level(s): 1-3
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Breanna Duran
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: LM - 239
Availability: Flexible- will schedule with families.
Contact: bduran@aak8.org

Grade level(s): K-1
Subject(s): kindieprep and kindergarten all subjects
Instructor: Nicole Yocom
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: LM - 151
Availability: flexible
Contact: Nyocom@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 1-3
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Alyeska Riker
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
My preference is in person
Location: LM - RM 238
Availability: Flexible-will speak time families about times and dates
Contact: ariker@aak8.org
 

Grade level(s): 6-8
Subject(s): English Language Arts (grades 6-10)
Instructor: Sommer Bannan
Tutoring Options: In Person (if possible)
Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: Off-campus location - Castle Pines Library
Availability: I will be available for most of June and July (M-F).  
I'm open to meeting at a library (if they are open), or a park.
Contact: sbannan@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 6-8
Subject(s): Math
Instructor: Jena Knox
Tutoring Options: Online (mandated or parent preferred)
Location: Online only
Availability: Flexible
Contact: jknox@aak8.org