Skip to main content

American Academy

Summer Tutoring

Some of our American Academy teachers like to offer private tutoring sessions during the summer months. We have listed those teachers here for your convenience and to give our wonderful, hard-working teachers a helping hand.
 
However, please note that American Academy is not involved in these private tutoring arrangements in any way. To make arrangements for summer private tutoring, you will need to contact the teachers directly using the contact info they have provided here.
 

Summer 2021

We will add tutors as we receive their information.
 
Grade level(s): 6-8
Subject(s): English Language Arts
Instructor: Sommer Bannan
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: Off-campus location - Douglas County Libraries- Castle Pines
360 Village Square Lane, Castle Pines, CO 80108
Availability: T/W/Th, June 1st - August 5th, 9 AM - 2 PM
Contact: sbannan@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K-5
Subject(s): Math, literacy (reading comprehension, writing, grammar) and executive functioning.
Instructor: Laura Donovan
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: LM - 218
Availability: Flexible
Contact: ldonovan@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): 5-8
Subject(s): All language arts/English topics
Instructor: Jo-Ellen Solita
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: CP - 321
Availability: June 7-25th (only Monday-Thursday 11:30-2:00)
Contact: jsolita@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): 5-8
Subject(s): CAD, coding, basically anything STEM related
Instructor: Beth Brown
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: LM - 318
Availability: M-F June 21-July 31
Contact: bbrown@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K-2
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Melanie Curl
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: Off-campus location - Castle Pines Library
Availability: Available after June 7 and flexible with times and days
Contact: mcurl@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K-3
Subject(s): Math, Literacy, Writing, Reading, Language Development.
Instructor: Michelle Harrison
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: Off-campus location - The home of our students or the Douglas County Library Branches in Parker, Castle Pines, Lone Tree, or Castle Rock.
Availability: Flexible. M-F, 9-5.
Contact: Michellerjharrison@gmail.com
 
Grade level(s): 6-8
Subject(s): 6th grade math through Pre-Calculus.
Instructor: Benji Billman
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: CP - 315
Availability: Thursdays, 9am-2pm. I'll be on vacation July 8 and July 15.
Contact: bbillman@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): 5-8
Subject(s): Math - see link for details of topics covered
Instructor: Jennifer Badgley
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: CP - 302
Availability: In Person: Wednesdays
Remote: Flexible
Contact: jenniferbadgley@gmail.com
 
Grade level(s): K-1
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Megan Johnson
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: MB - 135
Availability: Wednesday afternoons and Friday late afternoons End of May until Beginning of August
Contact: mjohnson@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): 4-7
Subject(s): Science Elementary and Middle School
Instructor: Laurien Moes
Tutoring Options: Online
Location: Online only
Availability: flexible
Contact: lmoes@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Mallory Buresh
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: MB - 158
Availability: M/W, 8-2pm (flexible), Beginning June 14th through July
Contact: mburesh@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): 4-6
Subject(s): Math and Science
Literacy and History
Instructor: Vicki Leal-Larsen
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: Off-campus location - Doug Co Library-Highlands Ranch
Availability: Tuesday - Thursday, afternoon; evening, June/July 2021.
Contact: vickileal1964@gmail.com
 
Grade level(s): K-5
Subject(s): Math, literacy (reading comprehension, writing, grammar) and executive functioning.
Instructor: Laura Donovan
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: LM - 218
Availability: Flexible
Contact: ldonovan@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K-2
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Haily Krien
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: LM - RM 135
Availability: Three Week Sessions, see Sign-Up Genius for Dates
Contact: hkrien@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): 2-6
Subject(s): Literacy and Math for one on one.
I am also doing small group literacy "camps" for incoming 5th graders and incoming 6th graders with the summer reading novels. Please contact me for details.
Instructor: Debbie Martin
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: LM - 235
Availability: Dates and times are flexible, please contact me and we can find a time/day that works for both of us.
Contact: dmartin@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K-2
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Olivia Nelson
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: MB - 238
Availability: Dates: Starting Monday May 31st- August 5th
Times: Monday-Thursday 8am-11am (flexible days and times based on availability)
Contact: onelson@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): 5-8
Subject(s): Math - Upper Elementary Math, GoMath, Pre-Algebra, Algebra, Geometry, Algebra II
Instructor: Mark Leadbetter
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: CP - 322
Availability: Flexible on days and times
Contact: mleadbetter@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K-4
Subject(s): Math, History, Literacy
Instructor: Olivia Andrunik
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: CP - RM 239
Availability: Mon-Thurs, June 1st-August 1, any time after 11:20 am
Contact: oandrunik@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 2-5
Subject(s): Math/science/literacy
Instructor: Britney Schaub
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: CP - 242
Availability: Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday. After 10:00 am. Flexible on days and times.
Contact: bschaub@aak8.org

Grade level(s): K-3
Subject(s): Math and English
Instructor: Brittany Wilson
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: LM - 156
Availability: M/T/W/TH from 12-4pm
Contact: Bwilson@aak8.org

Grade level(s): K-1
Subject(s): Reading and/or Math for Kindies transitioning to first grade.
Instructor: Lori McMorrine
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: MB - 159
Availability: Available in June. Please email me if you are interested in setting up tutoring. I am somewhat flexible :)
Contact: lmcmorrine@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 1-2
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Katie Vining
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: MB - 229
Availability: July 13th - August 5
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday
8:30am - 12:30pm
Contact: kvining@aak8.org

Grade level(s): K-5
Subject(s): Math and Literacy
Instructor: Erica Jacobi
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: CP - 235
Availability: M/T/W/Th, 11:15-4:00
June 7- July 15
Contact: ejacobi@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 4-8
Subject(s): Emotional Regulation
GoZen! is a social-emotional online curriculum originally created to teach anxiety reduction techniques by Renee Jain. I purchased the curriculum during COVID school closure and find it to be simple and relevant. GoStrengths! is a more general curriculum that focuses on broad social and emotional skillsets. I can facilitate the lessons via ZOOM and target areas of concern based on a short intake with parents free of charge.
Instructor: Sally Seiffer
Tutoring Options: Online
Location: Online only
Availability: Flexible via ZOOM.
Contact: sseiffer@aak8.org

Grade level(s): KP-K
Subject(s): Spalding Method Trained
Math
Instructor: Nancy Emerson
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: LM - KindiePrep
Availability: Open Availability
Contact: nemerson@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 6-7
Subject(s): Math
Instructor: Lexie Petersen
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: MB - 315
Availability: June 28th - August 1st 9 am - 12pm
Contact: lpetersen@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 2-5
Subject(s): Math
Instructor: Jennifer Gant
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: Off-campus location - Area Library - flexible
Availability: Flexible days and times
Contact: jgant@aak8.org

Grade level(s): K-4
Subject(s): Math, Reading, Writing, Grammar
Instructor: Sarah Anderson
Tutoring Options: In Person
Location: CP - 248
Availability: flexible
Contact: sanderson@aak8.org

Grade level(s): K-1
Subject(s): Any subject
Instructor: Nicole Yocom
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: LM - 153
Availability: T/W/TH from June 3rd to July 31st
Contact: Nyocom@aak8.org
 
Grade level(s): K-5
Subject(s): I am providing specialized reading instruction for students demonstrating difficulty with early reading/reading fluency skills. This tutoring is perfect for students with Dyslexia because I will be using Dyslexia intervention programs.
Instructor: Katie York
Tutoring Options: Online
Location: Online only
Availability: Mondays and Tuesdays, 9:00 am to 1:00 pm
Contact: kyork@aak8.org
 

Grade level(s): 5-8
Subject(s): Arduino coding & Circuitry, Computer Aided Design (Laser engraver and 3D printing), Science
Instructor: Melissa Sitzmann
Tutoring Options: Depending on request, could be in person or online
Location: CP - 304
Availability: flexible
Contact: msitzmann@aak8.org

Grade level(s): 6-8
Subject(s): History & Writing (Creative, Academic, Expository, Research)
Instructor: Kayla Todd
Tutoring Options: In Person
Online
Location: CP - 318
Availability: Flexible scheduling!
Contact: ktodd@aak8.org